Realty One

Thursday, January 10, 2019


OTTAWA-Baseball Canada is pleased to announce the names of 24 athletes that will represent Canada at the Pan American Games Qualification Tournament from January 29 to February 3 in the cities of Ibiúna and São Paulo, Brazil.

In addition to Canada, the eight-team field includes host Brazil, Colombia, Dominican Republic, Mexico, Nicaragua, Panama and Venezuela with the top four teams gaining entry into the 2019 Pan American Games in Lima, Peru.

The roster features seven players with big league resumes including RHP Phillippe Aumont, RHP Chris Leroux, LHP Adam Loewen, RHP Dustin Molleken, OF Dalton Pompey, RHP Scott Richmond and OF Michael Saunders.

A host of players with international playing experience were also named to the roster including IF Wes Darvill, C Kellin Deglan, IF Jesse Hodges, C Dustin Houle, LHP Jay Johnson, LHP Ryan Kellogg, RHP Jared Mortensen, IF Daniel Pinero, OF Tristan Pompey, RHP Jasvir Rakkar, OF Jacob Robson, LHP Evan Rutckyj, IF Eric Wood and C Andy Yerzy.

Also named to the roster: RHP Andrew Case, IF Otto Lopez and RHP Dylan Rheault are set to make their national team debuts in Brazil.

Ernie Whitt returns to manage the national team for a 15th time and will be joined by a veteran coaching staff consisting of Larry Walker, Denis Boucher, Paul Quantrill, Tim Leiper and Greg Hamilton.

No comments: