Realty One

FAMOSO MONDAY NIGHTS

Access

Friday, August 10, 2018

RAMS OPEN TRAINING CAMP FRIDAY

REGINA, Sask. – The University of Regina Rams will officially kick off the 2018 season this weekend as 104 players will report on Friday with the first two practices scheduled for Saturday and Sunday at the U of R Field.

Training camp will follow a two-on, one-off schedule. After the first two practices this weekend, the team will have lifting and film sessions only on Monday. They’ll be right back at practice on Tuesday and Wednesday, and Thursday will be another lifting and film day leading into full practices next Friday and Saturday.

After a full day off next Sunday, the Rams will then transition to their usual practice schedule for the next two nights before their Wednesday, Aug. 22 exhibition game against Manitoba (6:00 PM, Leibel Field).

“I’ve felt like a kid in a candy store the past few days as some of the out-of-town players have started to show up and we see what kind of shape they’re in during workouts,” Rams head coach Steve Bryce said. “There’s going to be some intense competition all over the field at camp. It’s such an exciting time for us and I can’t wait for us to hit the field on Saturday.”

The group of returning Rams this year is highlighted by fifth-year quarterback Noah Picton, a two-time All-Canadian and winner of the 2016 Hec Crighton Award as the top player in the nation. The Rams also return Canada West all-star running back Atlee Simon to the backfield, while the team’s defence will be anchored by fifth-year middle linebacker Danny Nesbitt, also a conference all-star two seasons ago.

After the Aug. 22 exhibition against Manitoba, the Rams will turn their attention towards the season opener which is scheduled for Friday, Aug. 31 at home against Calgary.

Camp Practice Schedule (All at U of R Field unless otherwise noted)
Saturday, Aug. 11 – 10:30 AM to 2:00 PM
Sunday, Aug. 12 – 10:30 AM to 2:00 PM
Monday, Aug. 13 – No practice
Tuesday, Aug. 14 – 10:30 AM to 2:00 PM
Wednesday, Aug. 15 – 10:30 AM to 2:00 PM
Thursday, Aug. 16 – No practice
Friday, Aug. 17 – 10:30 AM to 2:00 PM
Saturday, Aug. 18 – 10:30 AM to 2:00 PM
Sunday, Aug. 19 – Day off
Monday, Aug. 20 – 7:00 PM to 9:30 PM
Tuesday, Aug. 21 – 7:00 PM to 9:30 PM
Wednesday, Aug. 22 – Exhibition game vs. Manitoba (6:00 PM, Leibel Field)

(Braden Konschuh/U of R Athletics)

No comments: