Realty One

Friday, August 4, 2017


Russ Jackson (left and Jeff Avery
Leo Ezerins, Executive Director of the CFL Alumni Association (CFLAA), announced today that Ottawa Rough Rider Alumni members Jeff Avery and Russ Jackson have been named co-winners of the CFL 2017 Alumni Man of the Year Award.

The CFLAA will present this prestigious award to these two outstanding Ottawa Rough Rider Alumni members during the 2017 Grey Cup Festival at the fan favorite CFL Legends Luncheon.

“During their playing careers both Jeff and Russ were heroes on and off the field,” said Ezerins, “Over the years, both have made notable contributions to the growth of the CFL and the Ottawa community.”   Ottawa Rough Rider Alumni Vice President Jim Cain is looking forward to celebrating the success of his fellow Alumni members.

“The Ottawa Grey Cup festival will feature many all-star events, but celebrating the careers of Jeff and Russ will definitely be the highlight of the week,” said Cain. “We are thrilled to share the proud Ottawa football history with football fans from around the country at the Legends Luncheon.”

For the past eight years, the CFLAA has presented the CFL Alumni Man of the Year Award.  Past winners include: Wade Miller, Paul Robson, Sam Etcheverry, Bayne Norrie, Norm Fieldgate, Don Durno, George Reed, Carm Carteri, Lui Passaglia, Michael “Pinball” Clemons and Pete Martin.

1 comment:

Anonymous said...

When will we have the next Russ Jackson, can't happen fast enough. I've seen some pretty decent guys get passed by? shame