Realty One

Titan Auto

Saturday, June 4, 2016

SASKATOON - Jeff Cornwall scored the winner on a breakaway with just 12 seconds remaining in regulaton time as the Saskatchewan Rush won their second straight National Lacrosse League title, beating the Buffalo Bandits 11-10 on Saturday at SaskTel Centre to sweep the best-of-three final series.

The Rush, playing their first season in Saskatchewan after winning the title last year while based in Edmonton, opened the series last week with an 11-9 victory in Buffalo.

Mark Matthews and Robert Church led the Rush with two goals and four assists each, while Curtis Knight had two goals and three assists. Zack Greer added two goals and an assist and Ben McIntosh had two goals to round out the offence.

Dhane Smith scored twice and added four helpers for the Bandits, who also got a pair of goals from Ryan Benesch. Kevin Brownell, Mark Steenhuis, Nick Weiss, Andrew Watt, Alexander-Kedoh Hill and Anthony Malcolm had the others.

Aaron Bold stopped 47-of-57 shots for the win as Anthony Cosmos made 43 saves in a losing cause.

(Canadian Press)