Realty One

Tuesday, April 26, 2016


The field for the 2016 Crescent Point Energy Western Canada Cup in Estevan, SK is set.

The Alberta Junior Hockey League, British Columbia Hockey League and Saskatchewan Junior Hockey League championships all wrapped up in recent days. Joining the MJHL champion Portage Terriers and the host Estevan Bruins at the five-team tournament are: the Melfort Mustangs (SJHL), Brooks Bandits (AJHL) and West Kelowna Warriors (BCHL).

There are two RBC Cup berths available at the tournament. Teams play each other in a round robin format and the No. 1 and No. 2 finishers then meet in the championship, with the winner advancing directly to the junior A national championship — which begins May 14 in Lloydminster, Alta./Sask. The loser of the final meets the winner of a No. 3 vs. No. 4 semifinal, based on round robin results, to play for the second berth.

Portage will open its Western Canada Cup April 30 at 2 p.m. against Melfort — a matchup between the two returning teams from last year’s tournament.
The Terriers then face Estevan May 1, West Kelowna May 3 and Brooks May 4.

No comments: