Realty One



Tuesday, January 26, 2016


The Calgary Stampeders are pleased to announce that Rob Cote is the recipient of the team's Presidents' Ring award for 2015. It's the second time in the past three seasons the Cochrane native has been chosen by his teammates as the winner of the annual award.

"Winning this award is just as meaningful the second time around," said Cote. "I'm humbled that my teammates have honoured me with this selection because, believe me, I'm very aware of the fact that there are many players on this team who are deserving of this award."

The Presidents' Ring has been presented annually since 1967 to the Stampeders player who best demonstrates excellence on and off the field as voted by the players. Candidates are judged on their in-game contributions, leadership, inspiration and motivational skills. Cote will formally receive his ring at Fanfest in May.

In his ninth season with the Stampeders, Cote served as one of the offensive captains and started all 18 regular-season games as well as both playoff contests. His blocking work has long been a key component of the Stampeders running game and in 2015 he helped pave the way for three different Calgary backs to record 100-yard games. Cote also had 12 catches for 138 yards and seven special-teams tackles.

In nine seasons with the Stampeders, Cote has played 147 regular-season games as well as 13 post-season contests and he was a member of the Stamps' Grey Cup-winning teams in 2008 and 2014.

Cote is also active in the community - he has been the Stamps' official spokesman for Hospice Calgary since 2009 and is involved in many other charitable causes year-round.

"Rob represents the Stampeders extremely well both on and off the field and is deserving recipient of this prestigious award," said Stampeders president Gordon Norrie. "I congratulate the players for making such an excellent choice."

Hall-of-Famer Wayne Harris was the first winner of the Presidents' Ring and 31 different men have been presented with the award. Henry Burris, Danny Barrett and Stu Laird won the award on three occasions while two-time winners are Cote, Keon Raymond, Jay McNeil, Alondra Johnson, Harris, Allen Pitts, Fairbanks, Bernie Morrison, Ed McAleney, James Sykes, Willie Burden and Jerry Keeling.

No comments: